Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED Brightness Control Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zordon

Hi, i am building a dual tracking power supply for 0 to 15vdc and i would like to use 5 LEDS as power on indicators. However, i would like the LED's to get progressively brighter as the voltage goes up. So,
0V = min brightless
15V= Max brightness

If there is a simple electronic method i would like to hear it.

I would like to use a PIC but i am really new to programming.

The way im thinking of doing it is using a PIC16F628 as a volt meter, and have 6 different resistors connected in parallel to the LEDS. When a certain voltage is triggered a different output will turn on and in turn a different brightness.

Here is a picture of the front of my power supply. the leds will go behind the voltage adjustment knob to create a glowing effect.
**broken link removed**

This is a schematic of my power supply

**broken link removed**

i would use the pwm output on the pic (dont know if 16f628 have one) and change duty cycle with voltage using an analog input. That would be very simple and only use a transistor and 1 resistor at the output

for easy programming pic i use https://cq.cx/ladder.pl

You want simple way.
15 volts = bright LED.
0 volts = dim LED.

LED 1 is on the front panel.
LED 2 is a "2 volt zener" to make a -2 volt supply.
R1 is to set 12mA.
R2 is to set the 10mA at 15 vots. You will get about 1mA at 1 volts.

Sorry no PIC!

Attachments

• Image1.jpg
    Image1.jpg