Lets talk STATUS, Z

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChemE

Folks,

I am going through the EPE - PIC TO MOUSE DEMO (epemag.com/datafils/pic2kandm.zip) for a project that I am working on. I am trying to convert the code over to a 16F877A chip and have the PIC output a signal to a DAC. Basicly I want to have the mouse movements input into the PIC have the PIC send a signal to a DAC which will output to pots.

So now I have been going through the code trying to understand what it is doing. As you can tell I am an assembly newb so that is why I am asking for some help.

Here is the snippet of code that has propted me to ask for help:

Code:
WAITSTARTBIT:
comf PORTA, W
andlw %00000011
btfss STATUS, Z
goto WAITSTARTBIT

I understand what comf, andlw and btfss does from but I have been unable to determine how and in what way comf/andlw affect the Z bit of STATUS. I see that this code is waiting to see if Z bit is equal to 1 so that it can skip the next instruction.

My question is...

• What will cause the Z bit to go to one?

If someone wants they could even give a more indepth lesson the the Z bit of status and if anyone is willing to teach me or want to help me code this portion of my personal project they are always welcome! ;-)
Thank you

Thank you Bananasiong for your reply!

So let me make sure that I understand this. If the result of w and b'00000011' equals zeros for bit 0 and 1 Z will then be one?

• Does the Z bit only depend on bit 0 and 1?
  • What happens if I were to addlw b'00100111'?

Could someone give me a few examples of how to make Z = 1 with the andlw operater? I would like to learn about the Z bit. Thanks

Z bit is the Zero bit of STATUS register. Any returned value is zero will cause this bit (Z) to be set high.
Does the Z bit only depend on bit 0 and 1?
Yes, only if you AND w with b'00000011'.
What happens if I were to addlw b'00100111'?
Then it depends on bit 0, 1, 2, and 5.