Looking for colleges....

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello I dont know where to ask this question...but I am like really confused right now.
I am doing Btech in electronics and communication eng from IIIT Allahabad,India. I am currently in third yr and I am an average student.
I want to go for higher studies abroad ..ms from us colleges..but being an average student it is quite difficult for me to get into good college like mit,illinois,texas and so many. Also I know the expenses are quite large.
So can anyone tell me some colleges where it will cost me less and also the college is good..like i checked minnesota uni tution fee is very reasonble...its $27,000 for the entire course (well ofcourse mit fee is reasonable according to its value)..also how hard is it to get RA/TA and are they of much help...
so if anyone has any sort of suggestion for me..please do share I am so confused right....I do want to go for higher studies..

Hate to let this thread die on the vine...

featherheart9,

Irrespective of your choice of school, you will have a very difficult time getting accepted to a "good" higher level school with only an "average student" academic position.

Now, if your only goal is an academic achievement (MS), then any school will do.

If, however, your goal is academic excellence, then my best (and most honest) suggestion is to put a maximum effort into getting your grade average significantly improved between now, in your third year, and during your final year.

Irrespective of your choice of school, you will have a very difficult time getting accepted to a "good" higher level school with only an "average student" academic position.

I would agree - it's unlikely any decent Uni (or indeed any Uni at all?) would accept only an 'average' student on a Post Doctoral course.

I'm presuming a BTech in India is similar to a BA in the UK?.

my goal is academic excellence... and really thanks for this honest suggestion.