Looking for help with RCA Signal Booster

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sukasa

Hi, yeah. I'm in a bit of a pickle. I'm a high-school student, (so I can't afford anything really ), and my Current problem is that as part of a 'large'-show, I need to have a small video camera at one end of a large room in our school, connected to Television equipment at the other end as part of said show. My problem is, the cameras we have cannot get a signal more than about ten to fifteen feet before we lose our signal. I've got some experience in electronics, though, so I thought I'd see if I could just wire up a simple RCA Video signal booster, in order to extend the camera's transmission range to a few hundred feet alone this cable.

My problem is, I'm only a partial hobbyist, and most of my projects consist of at most one or two ICs and some supporting circuitry, and I"m not very confident about my ability to pick the correct parts and values.

My specific needs are, I need to take a Composite (Red-White-Yellow) Video feed, and boost the signal so that it will reach a few hundred feet (600 feet should be a good amount) along a cable to our equipment on the other side of the room- and I want to try and avoid a situation to where it amplifies the signal so much that it either destroys the cable, booster, or receiving equipment- we won't have any chance at all of replacing it. I'm not particularly worried about what I'll need, but I'd preferably like to keep the total cost to below $60 or so. I searched through here, but couldn't find any relevant threads, so I'm very sorry if a similar threads exists and I just couldn't find it, or if this was the wrong forum.

Have a nice day, and many thanks to anyone who can/will help

You may just have a cable problem. What type of cable are you using to send the video?