Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Low-pass filter with C but no R

carbonzit

This is something that's bugged me for some time now.

I hasten to point out that IANAEE (I am not an electronics expert); I know enough to get into trouble, and maybe a little more. Hence my puzzlement on this point.

In another thread there's a discussion of why, when a guy added a series resistor to the input of an amplifier, it degraded the sound quality by what sounded like attenuating high frequencies, the classic effect of a low-pass filter. The theory advanced was that by adding the series resistor, it formed a low-pass filter with an already-existing capacitor at the input of the amp.

This does not make sense to me. Let me explain why.

This shows the classic low-pass filter with both a C and R, but also simply a C:

LPF.gif

We know the C-R network forms a low-pass filter. But doesn't a C by itself also form one? It's simply the degenerate case where R=0, right? It will still function to attenuate high frequencies. Look at power supplies that have filter capacitors but no series resistors (some have them, some don't). There's your R-less LPF.