Magnetic stirrer / hot plate from scratch.

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamalden

So I have been doing research for the past year, here and there, on magnetic stirrer / hot plates and have finally committed myself to getting down to business... The reason I want to build my own is simply the matter of cost. Home made is cheap and usually just as efficient.

The questions I have for you guys...

The wire I plan to use is called nichrome and consists of 60% nickel, 26% chromium, and 14% iron which can be bought at enasco.com for only $15.00 plus shipping.

1) -I know that the thinner and shorter the wire the hotter it will get but I need a way to pump up the heat but at the same time control the temperature accurately. I don't know what the parts are called but I would imagine it would be called an amperage / voltage regulator with a knob? I am a noob when it comes to this so please feel free to correct me. lol.

So with a way to amplify the electrical current and then a nother way to control this amplified current I could then use a thicker and longer wire coil. So it would go like this.

[electrical outlet - amplifier - amp/volt regulator knob - nichrome coil]

The amplifier and controller for it is probably why all of the magnetic stirrer hot plates are so expensive online. anyways onto the next question.

Once I have a way to control the heat of the coil from room temperature to 400C I need to figure out a ways to get a magnet right up underneath the heat spinning rapidly on a fan motor which already has three speeds One solution to this is to order a magnetic stirrer and modify it with the above device or I can make a totally custom one. Here is my problem.