Major Gate Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

h3lladvocate

So, today I went out and bought 5 gates, AND, OR, NOT, XOR, and NAND, all of which being quad, 2-input positive gates. Now, im really new to electronics. I've taken E&M physics so i know al' the stuff behind circuitry, but this is my first "project". Anyways, from what i've seen online, which hasn't been much help, ive connected the gates correctly, but i cant get any of the gates to work properly. For instance, my OR gate behaves like this

A B O
0 0 1
1 0 1
0 1 1
1 1 1

so no matter what, the OR gate outputs 1... which is bad. I get this similar results with all my gates, not the exact same, but behaving against the truth table. So i guess my question is this. Can someone either A, tell me how to use the gate properly, because i might not me... or B, tell me if my parts are just faulty and what to do. The parts are NTE74LS series, so NTE is the manufacturer, and i got it from Fry's, if you know what that is. Please help!

you seem to be getting a 1 as a output no matter what, dont you? have you put pulldown resistors on all your inputs?

Im not sure what those are. What im doing, at least for the OR, is just connecting the Vcc to +5 V, the ground to 0V and my LED to the output, so nothing at all is going in to the input. When i do this, the light goes on, but i think it is supposed to be off. If i need to put pull down resistors, then please explain what those are, im still new at all this.

you do need pulldown resistors on all your inputs (10k) what these do is stop any static from entering the inputs (static will cause your ic to be random) and giving a false reading, these pulldown resistors go from all your inputs to ground, once you do that, they all should work fine.

just remember with the OR gate that only two inputs of 1 = 1 so thats high and high = output high any other combo and you get a output of 0 (low)

Last edited: