Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

max5450 digitalpot & pic16f877a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

spacecowboy

Hello everyone

First of all, since I am a newbie to PICs and this forum, I apologize in advance if I ask any stupid questions :D

I recently purchased a MAX5450 dual digital potentiometer and planned to use it with PIC16f877a. My problem is I am not sure how to connect them together. I believe that it has an up/down interface, which mean I don't need SPI or I2C, am I correct? Pins that I don't understand and don't know where to connect are; CS, U/D, and INC.

Thanks!!!

You dont need aspi or i2c buss.
Page 7 of the datasheet explains this quite well.
Have you read it ?
there are 2 chip select pins (cs1,cs2) one for each input resistor. The bar over the cs means it is active low. For ex., if cs1 pin is low(logic zero) the corresponding resistor can be changed. If it is high(logic one) it cant be changed. There are several ways to inc/dec the resistor wiper positions ( ike the center-tap on a volume cntrol). They all involve certain pins being held either high or low and other pins transitioning (changing from high to low or from low to high) depending on the desired change. Maxim is well known for their clearly written data sheets. Read the data sheet and see if you can get it from there. If not give me a holler.
zkt

Last edited:
PIN
MAX5451
MAX5453
MAX5455
MAX5450
MAX5452
MAX5454
NAME FUNCTION