Measuring current with a panel meter - do I have this right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Revolvr

Bit of a noob here, let me know if I have this right.

I am building a variable power supply which can handle 2A max. I have an LED panel meter set to measure 200mV max. I want to use it to measure current drawn by the load.

So I configure it to measure the voltage drop across a shunt resistor. I want the meter to show 2mV when 2A current is flowing.

Then R = V/I = 200mV/2A = 0.1 Ohm for the shunt resistor.
Power = V*I = 200mV*2A = 0.4 Watts

OK so far?

I can find 0.1 Ohm 1/2 watt resistors, but a shunt resistor won't exactly be 0.1 Ohm so how do I calibrate it? A trimmer pot in parallel? But I can't get a trimmer pot that low. Is my best bet to create my own shunt resistor using a long piece of wire that I can calibrate with another ammeter? A 22ga wire has 16.2 Ohms per 1000 ft, so I would need about 6.2 feet - coiled up in the power supply box?

TIA

-- Dan

I can find 0.1 Ohm 1/2 watt resistors, but a shunt resistor won't exactly be 0.1 Ohm so how do I calibrate it?
I would do something like this:

Attachments

• shunt.gif
    1.7 KB · Views: 208
Last edited:
I don't understand why you want the voltage across the shunt to the 2 mV for 2A given that the max current is 2A. This is inconsistent with your calculations.

Your calculation is correct for 200 mV, ie. 0.1 Ohm.

If you can't buy 0.1 Ohm (I bought some 5 Watt 0.1 Ohm resistors from DSE) then you could make it up by connecting ten 1 Ohm resistors in parallel.

You do it the other way round by making the measurement fitting the shunt value.

Most panel meters has a small trimmer pot on its pcb to allow the exact calibration of an internal 100mV reference voltage. This usually allow the user to change the reference voltage by 10% either way.