Mega-noob - requesting switch information

Status
Not open for further replies.

iamrubbish

Hi there.

I've been playing guitar for a few years and I've recently started messing around with electric guitar circuits. Everything I've done so far has involved following someone else's schematic for a similar guitar, and to be honest, having to ask someone how to do something and following their instructions is nowhere near as satisfying as when you figure out how to do it yourself.

What confuses me the most is switches - 5-way, DPDT 3PDT etc. All seem to have a load of poles coming off them, but how do I know what each of these poles do? Or, for example, when the lever is in the centre/up/down position, which poles are activated? I hope I'm using the right terminology and making myself clear. I guess I just need a detailed description of how to ascertain the roles of the poles on the bottom of switches. Any books/webpages you know of that could help me out?

Many thanks

James

I didn't call myself a mega-noob for nothing.

Use a DMM (digital Multi Meter) set on ohms to check continuity from various poles until you figure out whats what. If you don't have a DMM, a simple lightbulb and 9v battery could be substiuted. All you really need to see is when a path is open or closed.

Are these rotary switches?

Normally they are divided into sections called wafers, each wafer has one pole with numerous contacts, each position connects to a different pole.

Are these rotary switches?
My query includes rotary switches I guess. I just don't know how people figure out which wire goes where on switches, for example the switch in this schematic - https://www.seymourduncan.com/support/schematics/2h_2v_2t_3w_ssp.html - why does the white wire go from the middle left lug to the top right? Why is there nothing attached to the top left lug? etc etc.

I think I'm just too much of a newbie at guitar electronics to understand these things yet. Maybe an understanding will come in time.