Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Metal Detector without a kit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Don Wilson

I am new to elect., but I am learning a lot.

I am going to build a metal detector, and I don't want to use a kit. I hope to get enough information to build a successful project. If my questions are not in line, guidence will not hurt my feelings.

What type of circuit would you use to send signal to a transducer.

Have you search the internet yet? I've seen dozens of websites with one or two metal detector projects. Some very simple, some with advanced features. Not really my thing, but I'd guess everybody has wished the had a metal detector at least once or twice...

Chemelec is a member here, and has a website full of various and interesting project, but I remembered he had quite a few metal detectors. Well worth a look, all are very well documented in great detail (should publish a few books...). Great site, plus you can get help here.

**broken link removed**

Scroll down until you find the metal detectors, there are several. If nothing else its very informative.

I suggest starting out by understanding the various types of metal detectors. You can choose VLF null, pulse induction, bfo, and other methods.

Howstuffworks has a basic description to get you started. Beware that the descriptions and diagrams are highly simplified.

Even though you don't want to build a kit, you really should start from a published project. You don't want to reinvent everything.