Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MMC/SD power up TIME ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

irilias

hi, i'm new to PIC microcontrollers and will be using one (pic16f877a) to develop a project using an MMC/SD card.

i'm using an 8Mhz crystal, and i used the parameter SPI_CLK_DIV_4 for the setup_spi(), which means a 2Mhz SPi clock rate, and Tcy=1/2000000 sec (at least that's what i got from the datasheet) .anyway, for the MMC to power up it needs at least 1 msec for the supply ramp up time plus the power up time to get to VDD min (2.2 volts), my question is, how much clocks do i need to send to the MMC for it to completley power up?

my colleague told me that 80 clocks should be enough, but i don't think that would do the job, i mean :

80 x (1/2000000) is only 40 microsec ? , i probably need more than that, did i calculate the spi clock rate and Tcy correctly?

here's the code that i wrote (not all of it though, my problem is with the number of clocks to send (the FOR loop) ):

Code:
 int mmc_init() 
{ 
int i; 
SETUP_SPI(SPI_MASTER | SPI_H_TO_L | SPI_CLK_DIV_4 | SPI_SS_DISABLED); 
*0x94 |= 0x40;		// set CKE = 1 - clock idle low 
*0x14 &= 0xEF; 		// set CKP = 0 - data valid on rising edge 
OUTPUT_HIGH(PIN_C2); 	// set SS = 1 (off) 

for(i=0;i<10;i++)  	// initialise the MMC card into SPI mode by sending clks on 
{ 
SPI_WRITE(0xFF); 
} 

OUTPUT_LOW(PIN_C2);  // set SS = 0 (on) tells card to go to spi mode when it receives reset 
SPI_WRITE(0x40);	 // send reset command