Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Most Common and Best PIC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LiquidOrb24

Hello,

I'm new to micro controllers and I was wondering what is the most common PIC out there that has the most features.

I heard the PIC 68F84A is good but I just don't know.

Also say if I got a PIC with 18 leads and then later down the line I got a different one with 18 leads and has a different pin out, would I be able to use the old programmer to download the code to the new chip?

Finally can anyone point me in the direction to a store or website where I can buy the PIC as well as the hardware and compiler to get started? and for that matter what hardware do I need to program the chip?

Sorry for the questions I'm just really lost out because there seems to be so many PIC's.

Thanks

The king of the 16F series in 40 pins was the 16F877A
Don't use the 16F84A anymore. Use a 16F628 instead or better yet my personal favourite 18pin the 16F88 (both are cheaper than a 16F84A)

How do you know which one to get...There are so many I don't want to get the wrong one.

Are all the 18 pin ones compatible with the software and hardware to program it?

Thats another thing if I buy one am I stuck with it for the rest of my life as far as what I mentioned above with the software to program it and hardware or is there a universal PIC programmer.

Hi,

When asking where to buy parts it helps to provide a general location, at least the country you live in. The info here is US based.