Motion Activated LED artwork

Status
Not open for further replies.

rcane

Specifications

The motion sensor will pick up on nearby hand movements through a small hole (≤ 1mm diameter)

Each panel will have LEDs behind it with 30mm spacing in each direction of the LED (looking like graph paper)

I am a sixth form student, and have no prior knowledge of electronics, but I have practiced building circuits to instruction and am able to solder to a good degree of accuracy. So assembly shouldn't be a problem.

What I need to know, is exactly what I may need to make the circuit work. It will run using mains electricity at 240v, so I assume I will need a transformer to step this down. Also, I would like to know if each separate LED needs a resistor, and how to work out the values of the resistors I may need. For a typical small panel, the number of LEDs used will probably be around 12. For a large panel, this number could be increased to around 50. I anticipate using around 500 LEDs overall.

I appreciate that this is a difficult assignment, so any help you guys can offer me will be highly appreciated.

Where do I start?

Welcome to electro-tech-online, rcane!
I once built a simple motion detector circuit that ran on 5-15 volts dc that detected changes in the amount of light the circuit received. It used an LM393 comparator chip (could also use a 358 op-amp) and a CdS photoresistor to sense even a very slight shadow and turn on the output from a 555 (depending on what you want the LED array to do after being triggered). What are you planning for the LEDs? Do you want them to stay on after they are triggered until someone resets it, or do you want them to stay on for a certain amount of time and shut off on their own?
If this is what you're looking for, I can try to post a schematic for you.
Good luck, and keep posting!
Der Strom