motor control problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

bananasiong

hi all, i'm now doing my final project, and i found some problem. i'm using 68HC11 to control the motor. i need 12V to supply to the motor, since the 68HC11 drive only at 5V. i have constructed the circuit as shown in A. the 2K resistor is assumed as a motor. when the 68HC11 give a '1' to the PB0, which is 5v, the motor should run, in more than 12V, but it is unexpected. is it necessary for me to connect the '-ve' of port b to the negative terminal of the battery so that they have common ground?

when i use ewb to simulate, as shown in B, assume that the 1K resistor is the 68HC11, when the 5V is injected to the base across the 1K resistor, the voltage across the 2Kresistor is 11.xx volts.

can anyone help me with this?? i'm still new in electronics.. thanks for helping.

Attachments

• 1_365.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 835
what is the voltage developed across the 2K in fig A , also u need a current limiting resistor b/w micro and the transistor (~1k)

akg said:
what is the voltage developed across the 2K in fig A , also u need a current limiting resistor b/w micro and the transistor (~1k)

what u mean by need a current limiting resistor b/w micro and the transistor?? u mean need a resistor between the microcontroller and the base??

yes. otherwise the micro will see only low resistence(Fwd Bias res of BE Jn), and the voltage at pb0 will be pulled low (Vbe)

oic!! thanks.. but, is it necessary for me to connect the -ve of the port b to the -ve terminal of the battery?? so that they can have common ground.

bananasiong said:
oic!! thanks.. but, is it necessary for me to connect the -ve of the port b to the -ve terminal of the battery?? so that they can have common ground.
i don't know abt that micro. and i don't understand this " is it necessary for me to connect the -ve of the port b to the -ve terminal of the battery"
why a port has a -ve terminal ?.