Multisim National Semi LM2917 component

Status
Not open for further replies.

Russ_T

Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newb I'm afraid, apologies in advance.

I've decided I'd like to make a shift light for my motorbike, and from some googling I decided a National Semiconductor LM2917 would be the way to go about this.

**broken link removed**

Anyway I have Multisim 9 (I thought this would be handy as I should be able to figure out my circuit before I waste the money) and wondered if anyone had this component so I can add it to my db. I've tried the wizard to create one, but it's a little bit beyond me at the moment.

Is there an online repository for said components please?

Thank you for your time,

Russ

Doesnt look like National makes a model for this. If you are worried about your circuit working, post it up here for everyone to review.

Optikon: Ok thank you.

Thanks for the offer. I'd really like to simulate this in Multisim though as I'm a bit of a newbie and I could be posting a fair few times before I even come close. Also I figured it'd help with teaching myself? I may have the wrong idea with multisim though.

Thanks

The output from the LM2917 is a pretty straight forward voltage directly related to the RPM, so all you need to simulate it is a voltage source in multisim. You'll have a problem on the real device as the chip needs 15 volts, aren't most motorcycles 6 or 12 volt systems? So you'll have to have a switch mode or boost converter to power it.

You cannot really "learn" from a simulator. You have to understand that the simulator is a verification tool. You must first design your circuit and understand how it works before you simulate. If you do not take on this philosphy, you will believe everything that the simulator tells you and have much trouble in your life (because the simulator is only as good as the modelling which is far from perfect)