Need help on a capacitor circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

HokieJim

Hey guys...I want to build a simple capacitor circuit that will use a 9v transistor battery to charge a capacitor that, when a switch is closed, will deliver enough current through a short segment (~ 0.5 inches long) of resistance wire to cause it to glow, or even melt within about a second or two. I need to know what type/size capacitor will do the trick. I'm a mechanical engineer who hasn't done such a calc since I was forced to learn some electronic stuff in college close to 30 years ago, and those brain cells are long gone. I figure this will be child's play for most people on this forum! Any assistance will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Jim

The figure of merit that will determine if you can fuse the piece of wire will be proportional to the Capacitance, and inversely proportional to the effective series resistance of the capacitor (dont overlook the contact resistance of the switch and the wire conductors between the capacitor and the fuse). WAG: ~100,000uF 10WV Computer Grade Electrolytic Capacitor.

Thanks for the suggestion, Mike. Is that something I may be able pick up at Radio Shack, or where? Price guestimate? I figure the resistance of the conductor (only a couple feet long) to the fuse, and presume that of the switch will be negligible compared to the fuse itself.

I'm not married to the 9v battery, but assumed that would be as good and cheaper than say 6 D batteries in series. There's no need for the capacitor to charge in a short time (several minutes will be fine), if I correctly understand that to be the main difference with using a 9v transistor battery. Would any other voltage supply make the required capacitor cheaper or more readily available?

Look up wire fusing currents from a wire table. To be sure, multiply the number by five. It's the gauge that matters, not so much the length which only contribute to more heat dissipation.