Need Help Programming PIC16F628A for digital Thermometer

Status
Not open for further replies.

alvin_wj

Hi, i'm new in this hobby things . And sorry if my english bad. So without any further a do.

I'm trying to build a digital thermometer that use:

1x PIC16F628 (programmed with hex file)
1x 2x16 LCD with Backlight
2x DS18S20 1-Wire Digital Temperature Sensor
2x 1K Resistor
1x 7805 Voltage Regulator
1x Tactile Switch (Display Modes)

From the original website(PIC Dual Temperature Meter), it says that must use the DS18S20 sensors. In here quite hard to find that. So i use 2x DS18B20. Don't know what the different. But the store says, that if anyone looking for DS18S20 they give the DS18B20.

All the thing is on the place now. The problem is, i don't know that build this thing are quite hard (caused by the programming thing).
If you see the website. That is one picture like down here.
**broken link removed**

16.5°C 61°F
31.0°C 87°F

I want to make the LCD displaying:

CPU Temp XX.X°C
GPU Temp XX.X°C

In Indonesia, we use Celcius. Not Fahrenheit. The web says, that the sensors doesn't need to calibration. Cause they're digital.

Anyone can give me the code to make the LCD displaying

CPU Temp XX.X°C
GPU Temp XX.X°C

Thank you for your attention. If you looking for more information please look at the website. And one more thing, the site doesn't give the code / .hex file. For other project, they put the file on the download section.

BTW i have mikroBasic. And use MicroBrn to upload.

You need to know the dallas 1 wire protocol to deal with those sensors.

18B20 has an extended resolution than 18S20.

As you see the pictures in your project 18S20 has 0.5 C resolution accuracy unless you extend the resolution from the software.

If you use 18B20 it will still work but you are not getting the full resolution from 18B20 (this has upto 0.0625C).

If I use 1 wire devices I need at least 0.1C resolution accuracy.Otherwise no use of its price.

Last edited: