need quick awnser on soldering

Status
Not open for further replies.

musthave

can aluminium wires be solder toghetter size 16 gages and with what type of solder
Thank you in advance.

Under well-controlled conditions with ideal solder and flux, aluminum wires can be soldered (in theory). As a practical matter, I think it is a waste of time to try it.

I have purchased a number of "aluminum solder" kits of special flux and solder over the years and have NEVER gotten the stuff to work! Some of the kits were "dime store" or hardware store kits and some were from welding suppliers and made by very reputable manufacturers. I have been soldering for about 60 years under all kinds of conditions with all kinds of materials, having started out with soldering "coppers" heated in a small furnace on the workbench in metal shop in junior high school. I have done a lot of brazing and silver soldering. I know how vital cleaning of the metals is and how important temperature control is. I have never successfully soft soldered aluminum. I'm sure others out there have done it successfully. Do not attempt to solder aluminum wires with conventional electrical solder and flux. It is a waste of time.

One foolproof way to do it is to use an ultrasonically excited soldering iron. This is a conventionally heated iron with the addition of ultrasonic excitation. The ultrasonic energy cleans the aluminum oxide off the surface to be soldered while the joint is under hot solder and flux. Under those conditions, solder bonds very well to the clean aluminum. Without the ultrasonic energy, the oxide forms almost instantly after cleaning the metal and the aluminum is very resistant to attack by flux and has a very high melting temperature.