Need some help from the Pic gods (PWM measurment)

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrz126

I need some help...
Im working on this simulator project for work. I need to measure a percentage on signal that is coming out of this one panel. We have a card on the system that can measure the pulse width but we are waiting on the software for it. and we still have another week or so to go.

My plan is to use a PIC (877A PWM capture mode) to measure the 'percent on' of this signal, convert it to an analog value (Via R-R/2 D/A converter) and put that on one of the 'analog in' signals. Then do some conversions in my plant models to get the percentage on.
(It is a 100 Hz signal btw)

Normally I would research this myself, but Im limited on time. I need to measure this signal asap, this is pretty much the only road block Im facing right now.

Anyone ever use this PWM capture before? I would greatly appreciate anyone's help, since I just started learning PICs just alittle bit ago.

Thanks

Have you considered using just a simple resistor and capacitor filter?, you can convert the PWM signal directly to a DC voltage in that way. In fact, it's a common technique for getting an analogue voltage out of a micro-controller!.

hmm...I didnt know that I could do that.

I'm researching it right now, but how do I go about determining my time constant? It's a 0-5V signal at 100Hz (I could have the voltage go higher if necessary, it uses a pull up resistor to 5 volts.)

jrz126 said:
hmm...I didnt know that I could do that.

I'm researching it right now, but how do I go about determining my time constant? It's a 0-5V signal at 100Hz (I could have the voltage go higher if necessary, it uses a pull up resistor to 5 volts.)

It might seem a strange thing to suggest?, but if you look on the MicroChip website there's an application note about doing just this!, actually for converting the PWM output from a PIC to DC.