Need to make project louder

Status
Not open for further replies.

rrch123

Hi all!
I was building this project for an "anti-dog device":
**broken link removed**
http://www.zen22142.zen.co.uk/Circuits/Misc/whistle.htm

This device works nicely, but I need it to be louder. We are using it for our dogs whenever we drive into our driveway and they like to play right infront of our tires. We are afraid that we might hit one, and we need the ultrasonic sound to be louder because the dogs cannot hear it over the trucks roar.
I am a complete newbie at electronics in general, and can only really read schematics at this point to put together projects. Any help anyone can give me would be great.
Thanks
rrch123

Piezo's require quite large voltages to produce maximum output. First, try running the 555 off of 15v or so, so that it produces the highest voltage swing it can. If you still have too low a level, you might try an LT44 mini audio transformer (1k-20k). Connect the 1k winding where the piezo currently is and the 20k to the piezo. It is also good to place the sounder in a tuned cavity to utilise standing waves to increase the sound level acoustically, but I can't calculate the size needed sorry, experiment with it!

You could also consider adding an inverter to the ground pin of the piezo, this will double the voltage and quadruple the power.

Have you tried using the cars battery, it will get you about 14 volts when
the car is running. Use that to run it over the 9VDC?

The inverter will work as well, so long as the piezo can handle it.

Place a small piece of plastic pipe around the piezo, blocking the rear end. Face the open end towards the problem dogs.

Thanks too all! I will try all your suggestions to see which, or if some together will work the best.