Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Negative ION Detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheWhiteknight

I have recently built this project Negative ION detector following these instructions.
**broken link removed**

But so far have been unable to make it work ie detect negative ions have visual checked over everything seems ok but still dead nothing at all coming from the unit is their anything anyone could suggest or check. I am new to this so please forgive me . I am trying to put this together for my local paranormal investigation group . Any help or pointers gratefully received .

Thanks in advance

I fail to see how the circuit will work for several reasons.
1. Q1 and Q2 are PNP transistors and the collectors are tied to the + 9V
supply. This is the wrong polarity for PNP transistors.
Perhaps the schematic is wrong and the emitters should be connected to the +9V.
2. M1 is specificed a 100mA, way too much current for a typical 9V battery.
Perhaps it should be 100uA.
3. The 100M ohm resistor is in the wrong place. Perhaps it should be connected from base to ground.

**broken link removed** appears to have the original schematic, with the proper battery polarity. The only error I see in it is that the PN2222 is an NPN (which it needs to be), but is drawn as a PNP.
I don't know if it works, but it might.:D

This electroscope circuit is very sensitive and works well for detecting negative ions (i.e. the charge on a comb after running it through your hair):