Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to micro controllers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glacius

Hi I'm new to Microcontrollers and I've been following a tutorial for my PIC16f628A. I was wondering whether anyone could tell me how to connect the pic to my computer to program it?

That's rather expensive, and generally considered to be a pretty poor programmer - I would suggest you try looking at the InchWorm ICD2 clone mentioned a LOT in this forum.

Just on that, if your looking for the best programmer/development board on the market, the EasyPIC4 is hard to beat. Its $149, and you can use what ever programming software you want, as you simply program the PIC with the development's board software with the .HEX file produced
**broken link removed**

It comes with everything but the LCD's, they are a little extra. Or you can simply solder headers onto yours and put them in:eek:

Well the VELLEMAN Pic Programmer/Checker is the only programmer I can find in my area... :confused: And just out of curiousity what exactly makes the other programmers you specified better?

Glacius said:
Well the VELLEMAN Pic Programmer/Checker is the only programmer I can find in my area... :confused: And just out of curiousity what exactly makes the other programmers you specified better?

Well the EasyPIC4 is a complete development board, as you can see in the piccy.

mikroElectronica will ship to almost anywhere in the world, so too will microchip.