Newbie Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

SGW100

Hi all,

Firstly let my apologize for being a complete newbie and knowing NOTHING about electronics.

You help (and patience) are appreciated.

I want to produce is a device that delivers a 9 volt dc charge to two electrodes at a current of between 0.25 - 3 milliamps.

A dial should control the current at steps of 0.25 milliamps.

A timer is also required between 1 - 60 minutes.

Finally, I've seen on some dc devices (such as tens machines) quote a frequency. Now I understand that an AC device has a frequency as the direction of the current alternates. But what does this frequency refer to if it's a dc device? Or is it's output current alternating if it's quoting a frequency?

All help, (or suggestions where I can learn what I need to know) is very much appreciated.

Thanks for looking and have a great weekend.

Stephen Watson

SGW100 said:
Hi all,

Firstly let my apologize for being a complete newbie and knowing NOTHING about electronics.
Then read up on it before you start building thing or you'll probably be dissapointed when they don't work.

SGW100 said:
I want to produce is a device that delivers a 9 volt dc charge to two electrodes at a current of between 0.25 - 3 milliamps.

A variable resistor in series with a potentiometer will do that if your load has a low voltage drop like an LED, otherwise you'll need a proper little constant current source.

Why do you want to do this anyway?

SGW100 said:
A dial should control the current at steps of 0.25 milliamps.

A rotary switch with 12 positions (if such a beast exists) and 12 different resistors is what you need.

May I ask again, why?

SGW100 said:
A timer is also required between 1 - 60 minutes.
A CMOS timer will do that, I've forgotton the part number but I'll look it up if you want.

SGW100 said:
Finally, I've seen on some dc devices (such as tens machines) quote a frequency.
Whats a "tens machine"?