Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

newby needing urgent help needed with project

Status
Not open for further replies.

cavi

i am new to using pic and have been given this project, i have only used the 16F84 PIC before to make a light flash. If any 1 can help in anyway please let me know asap as i need some help knowing where to begin.:confused:

Rain Water Management System

With increasing pressure on the water supply in some areas of the country and with the introduction of compulsory water metering it will become increasingly important to make full use of all water resources. With this in mind new build houses could be fitted with a system to make use of local rainwater for flushing the WC’s and filling automatic washing machines.
The system fitted could work in the following manner:

1 Sensors to detect when rainwater is present in the collection gutters.
2 A set of pumps is activated to move the water to the Roof storage tank.
3 The collected water is then gravity fed to the WC and washing machine.
4 The level in the Roof tank is monitored and if it falls too low then a valve is opened and 50l of mains water is taken into the tank.
5 If the tank becomes too full then a second valve is opened and excess water is fed to the Garden water storage system.
6 If the tank becomes over full then an overflow system removes the excess.

Task:

Design a microcontroller based system which
A Monitors the level of the Roof tank and indicates the contents to the user.