Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Op amps boosting Ultra sonic signals?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lazcook

Im an industrial designer, and have started to learn about electronics and have building a simple bat detector circuit. The circuit is shown below but there is not enough gain from the signal to light up the led. All I want the circuit to do is light up an led when there is a signal at 40khz.

I need to use a series of inverting amplifiers to boost the signal. Could anyone show me how to integrate the amplifiers in the circuit below so that the led will light up with it detects a ultra sonic sound. In research I have found that a boost of around 4,000 times the original signal is needed.

My circuit

**broken link removed**

What I need to put into it

**broken link removed**

Thanks for your help any suggestion on how to do it would be appreciated!
cheers

First off, there should be Plenty of gain in the circuit you show.

However:

1) That 10K resistor in series with your LED is WAY TOO HIGH in Value.

2) The Output Signal is at 40Khz AC.
*** LED's Need DC to operate properly.

3) I would Recommend using an Active Peak Detector Circuit.

*** I Can supply you a schematic if Needed.

Hi Lazcook,
I answered you on the other website. The old LM358 is much too slow for 40kHz. Its max output drops above only 5kHz and at 40kHz it has a max gain of only 10.
Use 3 stages of a wideband TL074 quad opamp.