Orderes a new(first) programmer, what d u think?

Status
Not open for further replies.

serj.t.s

Hi I'm a beginner, a noob =P But I've had computer architecture classes and am/where quite used to x86 assembly languge(we also did mips assembly initially). But we eventually passes to more user friendly C code, but pretty much stayed in the basics(teaching sucks here in portugal). We used a costume mounted devboard with a intel188 microprocessor. Anyway we used interrupts, timers,dma,adc chip, and latelly(in a scrappy matter) USART to communicate rs232. First of all i'd like to know if it's ok to start right away with C language, and give a passage through the PIC's assembly code. From what I've read it's completely different from x86.. based in the accumulator and the instruction set it a bit awkward. If so is there any recommended literature. The suggested tutorials for beginners only refere assembly material.

I was to buy the inchworm+ as recommended by Nigel Goodwin and other members but end up buying this one because i only have a laptop and it doesn't have a serial port. **broken link removed**
From what I understant it seems pretty good for the price, is there any drawback compared to the inchworm+?

Thanks!

It's best to get a reasonable understanding of assembler first, this forces you to understand the hardware - which you will need to know to effectively use C (or any other high level language). You 'could' learn the hardware while using C, but almost all the help on the net is for assembler, and it doesn't force it on you like assembler does.

It's just another ICD2 clone, like the Inchworm - and BTW, the Inchworm+ can be used as a USB programmer as well!.