Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Oxygen Sensor Clamp - Car project.

Status
Not open for further replies.

GaryMachin

First, Hello and second I'm new to electronics so please forgive my newbie questions.

I'm looking for a circuit to switch between two voltages.

What I have:
1) A 0.5vdc signal
2) Source Voltage A (0.38vdc) - simulates an oxygen sensor and fed to an engine computer to prevent it reducing fuel to injectors.
3) Source Voltage B (0 to 1vdc) - variable output from an oxygen sensor

What I need:
When 0.5vdc signal is on, source voltage A is passed (to a car engine computer)
When 0.5vdc signal is off, source voltage B is passed.

If the signal voltage were higher (say 5vdc) I would have used a simple mechanical relay, does a solid state relay exist in these ranges? Or, does anyone know of a simple circuit that could do this?

How about using a transistor to switch a 12V relay ON/OFF? What does the 0.5V signal come from? How much current can it drive?

Thanks Mike. Like I said I'm a complete newbie.
The 0.5v comes from a Knock sensing device called a J&S Safeguard. It has boost sensing on board and has two outputs. A fixed 0.5v and a manually variable 0 to 0.9v. Both outputs turn on when the device senses boost pressure from a supercharger. The J&S already has the switching I need built in but it is broken. The circuit inside is potted and non repairable. Replacement of the J&S is around $500US. (All the other functions of the J&S are working).