Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Parallel resonant circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

superbrew

Hi, i am studying parallel resonant circuits in school now and am having some trouble with some of the results from a lab I was assigned. The assignment was that given a 2.2mH inductor, calculate the capacitor required for the resonant frequency to equal 10KHz.
The inductor that I used measured 2.197mH and and had a DC resistance of 4 ohms. The value of C that I calculated was approx 115nf. The actual value of C that I used was 112.76nf. These values calulated to give a resonant frequency of 10.1118KHz.
The circuit was constructed using a 4.7K :eek:hm: resistor in series with the LC circuit. The source had a 50:eek:hm: output impedance. When I measured the maximum voltage across the LC using a DMM and an oscilliscope, I came up with a frequency of 10.83KHz. Why is there such a large difference in frequency? Without using a network analyzer, what is the best way to measure the resonant frequency? Thanks for your help.

I wouldn't say that 712Hz is large difference in frequency at 10.11kHz, it's only +7.03% which is pretty good considering the components probably have a tollerance of 10%.

When was the oscilloscope and meter last calibrated?

Does the oscilloscope have a frequency counting function or did you work out the frequency manually?

The multimeter probably wouldn't give an acurate voltage reading as unless it's very expensive, it's only calibrated for 50/60Hz.