Patent Laws

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dr_Doggy

AS a freelance designer I was wondering what are the laws when it comes to producing circuits,, Am I allowed to make my various logic circuits, then sell them to my neighbors at a garage sale prices?
Do i need to patent it?
Or approval by the FCC or maybe CSA?
Do I need to offer warrenties?
Or assume liability for defective products(is there a no liability clause i can issue)?
How far can i go before i get big brother barkin up my tree?

I know that I can't produce any crazy radio waves, and other radiation,

but/! what about simple things, like my digital bongs and DIY vaporizers?

I am...happy to say...thoroughly lacking in personal experience in these matters.
Which means no one has any reason to sue my ass off and leave me destitute and living in my mother's basement. Which would be a real hardship since she lives in a mobile home.

Consider this: Apple sued Microsoft when uSoft first introduced its original version of Windows after the Macintosh GUI had been out a while. They argued (successfully) that since they (Apple) had gone to great lengths to determine in study groups and surveys what constituted a useful and proper GUI system, uSoft should not be allowed to just use the same visual elements in the same placements as Apple's. Thus the close-window button resides in opposite corners between the two designs. Which is a real hoot, because they both stole from Xerox PARC's original concept for a GUI. But Xerox powers-that-be never considered the GUI effort worth their attention, so they let it pass. Even when others in the computer industry tried to get them to jump Apple and uSoft for their theft of intellectual property.