Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

pic arithmetic

Status
Not open for further replies.

markaut

Hi, I'm pretty new to all this, having recently bought a Velleman VM111 programmer board and PIC 16F627 chip. I am working in assembly language.

My plan is to have a stepper motor rotate a turntable to predefined positions. I can drive the motor and I can place positions in EEprom as the number of steps from my zero position.
I can put things into EEPROM and access them, I can drive a stepper motor in both directions.:D

I am currently slightly clueless as to how I move the motor from one position to the next.:confused:

For example:
If position 1 is at step 24 (90 degrees from zero [the motor has 3.75 degree steps])
and pos 2 is at step 32 (120 degrees), then I want the motor to move 8 steps clockwise.
If position 3 is at step 4 (15 degrees from zero) then the motor would be best moving anticlockwise 28 steps as opposed to continuing clockwise for 76 steps.
I hope this is clear!

Am I right in thinking I can't have negative binary numbers?
I know SUBLW will come into is somewhere, but what happens if I subtract a large number from a small one?
How can I find out which number is the larger?
Do I need "If, Then and Else"? I assume they exist in assembly language?

Any pointers would be more than welcome, but please remember that I am new to all this and the learning curve, though fun, is steep.

You can add negative binary numbers,
Code:
; if w contains 32 then

addlw	0x100-d'12'