PIC circuit using USB

Status
Not open for further replies.

lonfire

Hi,
i'm new to using PICs, i have programmed other micros before however.. i'm designing a system where the use can plug the device into their PC's USB port and send some parameters to the PIC which it can store.. the circuits normal operation will be disconnected from the USB port where it can recall the parameters..

looking at using a 18F4550 PIC..

the system will also output data to 4x I2C 8bit bus expanders and read the status in from 3 push button switchs.. nothing 2 complicated..

anyother advice about programming PICs that you think might be useful?

thanks
chris

lonfire said:
the system will also output data to 4x I2C 8bit bus expanders and read the status in from 3 push button switchs.. nothing 2 complicated..

The complicated part is the USB section, check the application notes at MicroChip for details. The rest of your requirements are easy enough to do.

hi nigel,
thanks for that.. i'm going to buy one of the micro chip USB evaluation boards and have a play..

also getting a in circuit programming board also..

is the version of mplab on microchips site fully functional and free? i notice that the c18 compiler is free for the student version and after 60 days it doesn't do the code optimisation.. are there other c compilers i could use?

thanks
chris

MPLAB is completely free!, none of the fully functional C compilers are free though!

If your computer supports it, you might want to try making your circuit use the parallel port or serial port.

After all, those two ports are compatible with any OS installed (even DOS).

I've had good success with the FTDI FT232R serial -> USB chip. It was super simple to work with and there is free Windows virtual com port and interface DLL's available. The chip is $4.50 USD at mouser.

I've only used the virtual com port drivers so far, but I'm planning on making a simple VB program based on their sample code, it's doesn't look that hard.