pic contoller

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodpickles

Hello!
As I have a little spare time this time of the year I decided to pitch into a micro controller project. After looking at various different ones I have settled for the pic 16F877 with the oshensoft basic programmer.

Here is what I am planning:
a speedometer(to include ave speed, total odo, trip odo, etc.) , clock driven real-time, voltage meter/monitor, and thermometer.

My question is this, can I code all this, and stay within the program length limit?

Also do you know of any tutorials that would be helpful, as the info that oshensoft gives makes it hard for a newbie

u better try nigel goodwin's pic tutorials... and stick to asm... always stick to asm....lest he burst another capillary....

Yes I have looked at his website. It is very informative, but for a beginner I think assembly is just to hard...maybe I am just lazy? Also I think basic is faster to program. And I have some Basic knowledge in computer programming.

I suppose you should learn Asembly prior to Basic, it's not that hard and the code is *very* small. You will also understand how microcontroler prcess instructions, you can't see that in higher level languages.

If you use Asembly for your project, you won't have problem with Program memory space.

BTW: If you want to use high level language, I prefer C to Basic...

So Jay, you're saying it's the 'ol ABC's of programming...

ASSEMBLY is low level programing, BASIC is a higher level programming, and C is highest? ROFLOL :lol:

In the past, I've programmed in all three. When getting down to the processor level (like you do with µC) and talking to it on its level, nothing beats assembly.

I think assembly is just to hard...maybe I am just lazy?