Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC MCUs-I Have been using PICBasic PRO 2.50b but would like to learn Assembly ASAP..

Status
Not open for further replies.

rxforspeed

Hey guys, I'm a noob to this forum, but I'm loving it so far; it's right up my alley! I read the MCU datasheets from Microchip Technologies, but my problem is that they're laid out for programmers/designers/engineers in assembly language. I still haven't mastered PICBasic PRO (from melabs.com), but I will soon enough. I'd like to find a good tutorial and complier for programming both the mid-and high-range MCUs (16F and 18F series, I've only used the Flash/EEPRROM versions so far) in assembly...

I've found various references on this forum regarding free assembly language compliers, does anybody have any links to any free *unlimited* compiler versions? PBP is fine for what I'm doing right now, but all the info I NEED seems to only be covered in assembly. Can anybody suggest a good book/tutorial on learing assembly (preferrably from the same manufacturer/distributor as the compiler), written in an easy-to-understand format? I've learned my way around converting decimal numbers to binary, hex, and vice-versa, so I can understand that, but some of the commands I've run across in the MCU datasheets don't seem to make much sense to me...