pic power question

Status
Not open for further replies.

lajinnovations

I am new to the whole designing & using pics but want to learn so here I am..

I am building a circuit that will be installed in a car using the PIC 16F690.
I know I need a voltage regulator & have seen many schematics that use the 7805 fixed 5 v regulator TO-220 package. My question is the 7805 is rated at 1A but the PIC maximum input current is around 250mA. In the schematics I've seen there is nothing to drop the current to the minimum current needed. How is this possible... why arent people using the 78L05 in the TO-92 package as it is rated for 100mA? Also there are some that use 2 capacitors 1 on the input one on the output of the 7805 & others that use 3 caps 1 at the input & 2 at the output. Why use three?

Thanks

Last edited:
The PIC will only draw as much current as it needs, but things like LED's need a resistor to limit the current going through them.

A 7805 is a bad choice for a use in a car. Too much electrical noise.

Some regulators are made for use in cars. For 100mA or less look at the LM2931.

100 mA is enough current for many applications. You did not tell us what you want to do so we have no way to tell.

Cars electrical systems can be very hostile to electronics.

You should put a diode in series to protect against reversal. It is also a good idea to fit a resistor in series with the regulator input, and an 18V zenner diode to ground, as well as a large capacitor.

The resistor should be chosen to give about 3 V drop at maximum power drawn by your circuit. That will give about 8 V on the regulator.

There can be serious spikes on the car supply. Voltage regulators will not like spikes even if very short, and the resistor an the zenner will help to limit those.