PIC programming problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

George L.

Hello,

I built one of those simple JDM programmers to work with the 16F628, to do some tutorials on Nigels site.

I downloaded the 1st programmer on the IC-PROG page and plugged in my programmer to my serial port...

The problem is I can't change anything in assembler mode, what the seceret?

thanks,
George L.

it's just decoding the .hex file ..it's not a editor . u need mplab or other assemblers to write ur program (.asm file).

thanks akg.

I just downloaded MPLAB. I am just trying to take Nigel's fist tutotial, the one where all the LEDS flash so fast you can't see the flashes, and program it to my PIC to see if my setup is working.

I took Nigel's tut1_1 and pasted it into MPLAB, what do I do now...somehow get it to the IC-PROG software so it can program my PIC?

Sorry, I have never worked with PIC before, I am trying to start

Help would be appreciated.

thanks,

George L.

mplab is an ide. I don't know nigel tutorials but you need to:
a) create a project
b) add files (.asm, .inc, ...) to the project
c) build, fix errors, build until no more errors
d) program gnerated .hex into target system

you can use the project wizard to do a and b.

If the IDE make you pull your hair out:
Edit any file with notepad save as xxx.asm
Finding and running MPASMWIN.EXE (in program files etc) give you the compiler
Launch IC-Prog and load the xxx.hex to program

u have to create a new project to start with , Project->new and add create a new .asm file and add it to the proj , paste ur code . select the device (eg: pic16h628a) in the configuration and compile. i would recommend u first learn debugging and simulation before programming the ic , u have to enable debugging by selecting a simulator , and set the clock speed in the debugger configuration . step through the code , watching the different SFR/GPRs

I am a new to PIC too... And I do not recommend you to cut and paste codes.