PIC16C54 to PIC16F54

Status
Not open for further replies.

microX

Hi to all users of this website!

I am very new to this work and yes, I realise a little knowledge is more dangerous than none!

I am currently trying to copy a programme from a PIC16C54 chip to a PIC16F54. I have a Needham's EMP-11 with version 1.6 software (last version before they ceased to exist). I do realise both these types are pretty ancient, but they do a simple job of switching relays for automotive use.

The problem I am having is the 16F54 is not on the Needhams software. I can read the verified 16C54 chip no problems & save the info. However I really need to program a chip using data from the original & plug in to a PCB to get the thing working, and wonder if anyone can advise on:

1. Is the 16F54 a good replacement, or can you advise on another that will program ok (others are listed in the Needham's software so if it is on the list & compatible I can source one of those instead). It does need to be same pin configuration.

2. Am I right in assuming I can simply read the original C type chip, save to buffer, then write to a suitable F type chip.

3. The fault with the PCB is simply the command side of things isn't working. I can't fault any of the components or PCB, so am assuming it is probably due to a problem with the PIC16C54. Is it possible that this can fail, but still allow the memory to be read with no errors?

I have a PIC Kit2 on order and so should have a more up to date & supported piece of hardware very soon so that may also help me.

Many thanks for any advice you can give.

Microchip have a migration document available.

If you can read the chip and get code that looks correct you may be able to use it in a 16F54 but you would have to manually set the configuration bits in the programmer. Note that the data you read back from the chip may be scrambled if code protection is turned on. Do you have access to the source code or a hex file?

Mike.