Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16F876A led problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

santhosh

Hi all,
I am very new to microcontroller. I try to write my first program using PIC16F876A to trigger led 3 second interval. Code is
#include <pic.h>
#include "delay.h"
#include "delay.c"
main()
{
TRISB = 0x00;
PORTB = 0x00;
while (1)
{
PORTB=0x80;
DelayS(3);
PORTB=0x00;
DelayS(3);
}
}
And i compiled the code using Hi-TECH lite version
picc --chip=16F876A port.c

I programmed PIC16F876A using icprog(using JMD programmer option). Finally i connected power supply and LED(see the attached file), but nothing happen. Please help me.

Regards,
santhosh

Attachments

• led.png
    led.png
    4.4 KB · Views: 781
Assuming you have the crystal caps and power correct.

You have the LED on RB7 which is used by the ICD interface. To make like easy move the LED and resistor to RB0 and alternate RB0 between 0x00 and 0xFF.

If it blinks on RB0 check the other 7 pins. If it works on all by RB6 and RB7 you have compiled the code in debug mode which does not allow the use of RB6 and RB7 as IO.

HTH

Hi santhosh :)

is the header file (delay.h) is the one that come with hi tech pic c
if so there is no such a term called dealyS() (unless u modify)

if your use that header file

DelayUs(x) Delay specified number of microseconds
DelayMs(x) Delay specified number of milliseconds
are only available functions with that header

and where is your configuration word ?:rolleyes: