Pickit2 VDD seems to be fixed at 4,8V

Status
Not open for further replies.

patroclus

Hello,

I can read and write PIC24H while pickit powers the device, but reciently I realized that VDD voltage isn't correct. If I try to calibrate pickit2, I measure 4,8V, and once I enter that value (instead of the default 4V that appear in the dialog window's text box) the software complains, and I get an error. Basically it is imposible to calibrate. Even if I manually change the supply voltage from the main window, I always measure 4,8V... programming is OK, but I just cannot debug , even setting correctly the EMU pins in the configuration bits (MPLAB IDE complains about voltage, even if I supply voltage externally and tell MPLAB to always use target power).

Any help?

thank you

Don't think so. My laptop's USB ports work fine with just everything, and I've been using it for three years.
What I find strange about this is that it happends without connecting pickit to any circuit, which could be the source of the problem...

I have two pickit2 and have never had what your taking about happen but two times one the usb power went out on my computer. My mouse worked find but I couldn't use the pickit2 Ans two I burnt up a pic32 using the auto power function.
newer picikt2 software fixed a lot of bugs with the pic 24h
PICkit 2 V2.61.00
Device File V1.61.00

Last edited:
I'll try with another computer and see what happends. Couldn't the problem be with my pickit2? It is a clone, and it may not be working properly... I don't know. But I don't have another one to try it out.

I'll try with another computer and see what happends. Couldn't the problem be with my pickit2? It is a clone, and it may not be working properly... I don't know. But I don't have another one to try it out.

If it's a clone then it's NOT a PICKit2 - many clones leave out the variable Vdd facility.

If it's a clone then it's NOT a PICKit2 - many clones leave out the variable Vdd facility.