pipe line inspection robot

Status
Not open for further replies.

thomasPlam

hi guys,

Am planing to build a robot to check the cracks and leaks in the water pipe lines.

so the basic need is, it should travel minimum 1km. Am thinking of wired

communication between the base and robot. For this i don't know which protocol

to use. please suggest me some idea for this communication(wired or wireless).

Target to meet

1) Should travel min 1Km.

Environment

1) Pipe line can be metal,Plastic,and Cement.

2) It can be 5 to 10 feet under the ground.

Regards & Thanks
thomasplam

This is one strange project if you are a hobbyist. If this is a commercial project I can help you for 2500 EUR a month.. and that is cheap because I'm still a student.

So, if you can do wired communication over one kilometer you have several options. The physical interface should be differential. Ethernet or RS485 are probably the best options for wired communication but they have their limits.

If you're not navigating any major curves or other changes in direction, and you have more or less a "line of sight", you might try using 802.11g/n with directional yagi antennas on the robot and base-station. Another option might be to use a fiber optic comms system. Regardless of what communications method you use, have the robot tow a retrieval line behind it, just in case...

hi crosh,

thanks for your reply. curves will be there and line of sight is not possible.Seems fiber optic comms is too costly.Now am thinking of using Rs-485, data sheet they telling that 1.2km range,what is your opinion.

regards
thomasplam

hello misterT,

thanks for your reply,its not for any commercial purpose its just for hobby only for helping my friend who is a pwd contractor. am planing to use RS485(1.2km range).

regards
thomasplam