PLEASE HELP - AV transmitter hiss

Status
Not open for further replies.

bmdesigns

hi there -

this is my first time here so please be gentle.

i am building some bits and pieces for my video filming work including a 2.4ghz video/audio (stereo) transmitter/receiver which works fine so far.

however, when all plugged up and working, i always get a slight hiss on the sound from the receiver. when i unplug the video cable on the transmitter (i.e. to no longer transmit a video signal but still the audio), the hiss goes completely.

am i missing something here or should i be adding another component that will sort this?

many thanks in advance,
nick.

actually it's more of a hum and seems to vary in strength depending on what the video signal is:

very bright white saturated video signal produces a loud hum.
dark does the opposite.

any help would be most appreciated.

Sounds to me like you have a "ground loop" problem. This can happen between various pieces of gear that have different grounding schemes internally.

What may be happening is that one piece of gear is causing a small current to flow through the grounded shields of your cables, and is being picked up an amplified. Check the grounding in the video transmitter, and see if adequate power supply isolation and decoupling is there.

The relationship between the video content and the noise may be related to the signal to noise ratio of white and black objects in the video signal. If I remember correctly, white video signals are lower in level than black, so any noise in the video would be far more apparent in a white signal.

Nigel can probably shed more intelligence on this, but I think that is how it goes.

White level is high, and black level is low, with the sync pulses being below black level (blacker than black?).

so should i be using a 1:1 isolator to sort this problem? if so, would i need to use one on each signal line: video, audio left &audio right...