Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pressure-activated circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm working on a circuit for an automotive application. It will use the voltage output from a manifold absolute pressure sensor to activate a relay and turn on a solenoid. I'm rather new to circuits, so I'm unsure of what diode and resistor to use in the circuit.
I want the V-out to run through a zener diode so that the relay will only activate when the MAP sensor passes enough voltage through the resistor to ovecome the zener voltage of the diode. The input of the MAP sensor/relay side of the circuit is 5v @ 850mA.

**broken link removed**

Typical MAP sensor output I think is in the .5 to 4.5 range give or take between idle and wide open throttle. You would need one small and sensitive relay for your circuit to work. The breakdown voltage of the zener, the value of R and the resistance of the coil would all figure into it.

For what you want to do I would consider taking the MAP sensor output and running it to a comparator circuit using maybe an LM339. You could then easily set up a reference voltage on the comparator to change states, drive a small transistor to close a relay for a pretty precise manifold vacuum. You could even calibrate it.

Ron

Thats awesome, this actually simplifies my circuit by using a little more complicated part. So what would the pins for this IC be? Correct me or add to this if I'm wrong:

2 pins for resistor reference voltage