Problem encountered when using LM35DZ

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjhaw

Hi, I am new in using the LM35DZ. I had encountered when measuring a temperature of boiled water by using the connection of basic centrigrade temperature sensor (Fig 1) from LM35 data sheet. Supposed the temperature measured by thermometer is more than 90 'C. But the measured temperature from LM35 is 55 'C which is shown in multimeter 550 mV.

Is there any solution to improve the result? I hope that I can get help from you all.

Thank you.

hi,
I assume you powered the LM35 from 5V thru 9v.??

How did you bring the LM35 body into contact with the boiling water.?

Usually they are accurate to +/-0.5C,

hi,
I assume you powered the LM35 from 5V thru 9v.??

How did you bring the LM35 body into contact with the boiling water.?

Usually they are accurate to +/-0.5C,

Hi, I used power supply with only 2V to tune until 280mV which indicate the room temperature. I didnt tune it to 4V or more because the multimeter will show higher value of voltage output which is not same as room temperature. just contact the top surface of LM35 on the surface of aluminium cup. I also tried to immersed the body of LM35 into the boiled water. Is there any solution?

You did the test at sea level or up there somewhere in the mountains?

I did the experiment with the room temperature of 28 'C, sea level. I also used thermometer to measure the boiled water. By right the divice should show the result near to the thermometer. Thanks.

Hi,

Are you applying sufficient supply voltage?

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

Hai, thank you for the post. The figure in attachment is the 2 ways I used to connect the LM35 to power supply. The left one show the direct connect of LM35 legs to the power supply. The second one I just connect the two V+ and V- to power supply then from the power supply, the V- connect to GND.