Programming help

Status
Not open for further replies.

JmacHS

Hi all,

I am a year 12 student in Sydney currently completing my Design and Technology major work. A very small part of my project requires me to edit some code that was provided with a kit i purchased. Although this code will only drive the stepper which powers my project (it is a clock), it needed some small changes.

I have now made these changes but i have zero experience with programming microcontrollers. I have soldered the kit together, edited the code and purchases a PIC programmer (i am using a PIC16F628A). However i am completely out of my depth as to how to convert it from a .bas to a .hex file. I have downloaded multiple assemblers and compilers without any luck but the due date is approaching as are my trial and HSC exams and i am beginning to freak out.

The .bas file is attached, please note this is not my code.

If anyone could help me with my problem in any way i would greatly appreciate it.

You need the exact same compiler that the code is written for - you may need to ask the author what it uses, bear in mind you will probably have to BUY the compiler, which won't be cheap.

Thank you very much for your quick response, it is much appreciated.

The code was written in PBP3. I have downloaded this and after making my changes clicked compile. I however do not see any hex files anywhere. I have somehow made an .asm file however I have no idea how I can then convert this to a hex file. I would really prefer not to have to purchase a $150 piece of software for one compile to never be used again....it's a bit expensive...

Is it at all possible to now use mplabs IDE now I have an assembly file? Or are these still "attached" to the creating program?

My apologies for asking such basic questions, and once again thank you very much for your help.

Alan links PBPro on his web site **broken link removed** so I should imagine thats the compiler he uses..