Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Project using a Credit Card Payment Terminal as a switch device :))

ibobibo

Hi forum!

I'm really new to electronics and would like some advice/ideas about something.

I was dumpster-diving a few days ago and found two credit card payment terminal devices, along with some other cool electronics.
I thought it would be really fun to install it in my house as for example a light switch circuit.
My ideal situation would be that I can type in a code, press "ok", and then a light turns on. it would be nice as well if different codes did different things, but its probably easier to start by just getting a reaction from pressing 1 key.
My idea on how to go about this was to open it up, remove all unnecessary parts, and connect the keyboard to a circuit. How would you go about this?
The devices are a verifone omni 5750 (VX570), with 9V 4a, and a verifone VX820, with 9V 1a.

I'm also open to other ideas on how to apply these devices : )), please share if you have any!!

thanks so much,
ibi.

Last edited:
If you're new, then no chance - and probably no chance anyway, as it's unlikely the required programming tools and information are available.

So basically strip everything out, other than the display and keypad, and replace the insides with an Arduino (or similar) and program that to do what you want.

For a beginner this might be a heavy lift, but here are a couple of DIY approaches :

Regards, Dana.

Hi forum!