Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PWM --> 3 State Ouptut

Status
Not open for further replies.

micro571

I am wondering how easy it is to take a PWM signal and get a digital output. I'm thinking of an RC remote receiver. For motor control that would go from full forward to full reverse. I'd like a 3 state output (Foward / Off / Reverse). If that's not possible, 2 state output would also be ok (On / Off).

Is this pretty easily doable? I have some PIC programming experience. Some PIC IC's have hardware PWM interfaces. Any other simple circuits or ICs that might be able to do the job ??

If you are trying to drive a motor with a PWM and derive 3 states for the motor from a single PWM signal, that is impossible you must use a PWM in conjunction with another PWM or digital lines.

If you are trying to make an interface for a RC radio to remotely control a uC application, it's pretty easy. YOu just have the MCU measure the PWM being read from the radio receiver and interpret it however you wish. Then you could have a "center" PWM pulse width which would be stop greater or less than that stop width would be a progessively faster forward or reverse. The MCU would be basically reading PWM signals from a radio receiver, measuring them to find out the desire speed you are sending and then the MCU would have to use at least TWO PWM signal or one PWM signal combined with at least one digital line to drive an H-bridge which would forward/stop/reverse the motors.