RC Car Detonater

Status
Not open for further replies.

ematrix

Hey guys I am fairly new to electronics and pyrotechnics. I have made black powder and can light it fine (Not compacted, trying to make a black powder rocket) with a 12 volt battery recharger that is used to recharge car batteries. But the thing i cant figure out is why a 9Volt battery wont light the powder when i got 2 peices of wire connecting off of it with a copper wire inbetween like the 12 volt does. I even put 3 9 volts in sync to make 27 volts and i tested it with one of those electrical testers that spits out how man volts or amps you have. But still no light. The reason i am trying to do this is because. I am trying to turn a wirless door bell or a alarm clock or a rc car to light this (most cheap rc cars will just with that much power) because i hate lighting fuses. I was thinking wireless so i can stand back a saft distance to light the powder and then when that works i build the rocket. I dont wanna just use the 12v and loads of wire because i hate carrying out 30 feet of wire or so. ANY suggestions on how i can use 9v or anything to make a small "detonater" to light this thing.

Thanks
John

You can use a lower voltage but you need big amps to light your firework. If you think a PP3 will light your firework then study electrics a bit more. Get a lead acid battery and you will have no problem lighting your fuses.

Mike.

Exactly, it doesn't matter how many 9V batteries you connect in series, the short circuit current will be exactly the same.

Nicad AA batteries can kick out a fair amount of current and NiMH isn't far behind, connect 10 in series and you'll probably have more than enough current to ignite it.

So how do I know how many Amps are going through the battery? and would connecting a wire to the positive and negative terminals of the batterys couse it to heat and light?