Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

reading analog engine signals to a pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

jay543_uk

Hi all, im new to pics and electronics but i do no quite abit about automotive engine sensors and signals.My question is how can i take readings from the engines sensors with out disturbing the signal going back to the ecu.All the signals on my engine are a max of 5volts.

would i have to use a op-amp so i wasnt puting any sort of load on the signal back to the ecu.

hope this makes sense.

i no how to do the a/d conversions once its at the pic, i just need to no how to read the voltage/signal with out desturbing it going back to my ecu.

thanks for any help

hi thanks for your replie, im guess the filter would be before the opamp. would you have any diagram examples that i could look at.

im very new to electronics so im learning as i go along.

many thanks

jay543_uk said:
hi thanks for your replie, im guess the filter would be before the opamp. would you have any diagram examples that i could look at.

No, place the filter after the buffer, the filter will have a low output impedance suitable for feeding the PIC.

There are plenty of examples out there, see here for one of them:

**broken link removed**

iv attached a pic of a low pass filter, is this the type of filter i need to use. iv not used filters or opamps before so im just doing resource on the net at the mo.

thanks to any one who can help me

jason