Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Record movements: Accelerometer, Gyroscope or IMU?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zab1981

Hello Community!

I have to built a sensor for a project, but have no idea of all the electronics-stuff (I am a total beginner, but willing to learn).

I need to record movements of a person. So somebody will carry a small device and I would like to know if he is moving or resting or running.

What is the best sensor, to record this? Accelerometer, Gyroscope or IMU?

As the device should be quite small, I need some sensor, that is not that big. Do you have any suggestions or experience what to use?

Appreciate all your suggestions and help. Thank you in advance!

An accelerometer would probably work. It can readily detect movement and Analog Devices, among others, sells many such devices in small IC form. A µC could be used to analyze the signal and descriminate between moving, walking, resting, or running.

Thank you very much for your efforts and your reply!

So accelerometer should do it (somehow). Unfortunately, I have no idea about designing circuits (at least, I do not know where to start from at the moment). Do you maybe have some ideas for me where to start?
How do I implement the µC to analyze the different user-states (resting, running, walking, ...)? Sorry, but I am completely new to this topic ...

Thanks again for all your time and efforts!

Thank you very much for your efforts and your reply!