Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Regulators or Resistors??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carnivore

I'm very new to electronics in general. Having said that, I have run into my first real newbie snag. :confused:

I would like to convert, or split off and reduce an existing DC voltage from a higher, unregulated voltage to a lower voltage. See following:

Existing voltage:
Min 24 VDC
Nominal 34 VCD
Max Peak 44.5 VDC

Desired Voltage:
5 VDC

I was thinking a regulator would do the job but from what I have read, you should try to keep input voltage within a few volts of the output voltage.

So I thought maybe resistors in series but then I read that using resistors in this fashion can produce a lot of heat.

If I’m asking this question wrong, or seem generally uneducated on the topic please don’t be too hard on me, I really am new but am trying diligently to learn. :D

As long as the current is fairly low, then a linear regulator will be fine. What's the max current you need to draw at 5V?

kchriste said:
As long as the current is fairly low, then a linear regulator will be fine. What's the max current you need to draw at 5V?

According to the datasheet for the part I'm trying to power only needs
0.04mA.

would you happen to have any suggestions on a paticular Linear Regulartor?

I'd go for a switching regulator since you are stepping down the voltage so much. If the output was 100mA, you'd be dissipating 2W of power...at minimum input voltage!
====================